Governing Body

Governing Body

Governing Body

Dr Julie Wilson Reynolds 10th Principal of St Hilda’s School
Julie Wilson Reynolds home

On behalf of the Corporation of the Synod of the Diocese of Brisbane I am delighted to announce the appointment of Dr Julie Wilson Reynolds as the 10th Principal of St Hilda’s School.

Dr Wilson Reynolds will bring fresh ideas in a new era for girls’ education at our wonderful school. The School Council is dedicated to supporting a strategic direction, which not only builds a vibrant, world-class educational facility but also promotes personal achievement, self-confidence and strong Christian values within a supportive learning environment. We are confident that Dr Wilson Reynolds will be able to bring this vision to life.

Dr Wilson Reynolds was the Deputy Headmistress and Head of Senior School at Abbotsleigh in Sydney. Prior to this Dr Wilson Reynolds was Principal at Cedars Christian College (Wollongong) and Deputy Principal Pastoral Care at Roseville College (Sydney). Her area of teaching expertise is in English and History. As a life-long learner, Dr Wilson Reynolds completed her PhD in 2015 on the topic of Creativity in Leadership where she identified the ways in which leadership, change and creativity work together. In addition to her Doctorate she holds two Masters degrees: one in Educational Leadership and another in Literature and Language.

Dr Wilson Reynolds has moved to the Gold Coast with her husband David. Their children John and Stephanie have left the nest, and Julie and David are looking forward to the next chapter of their life together. As a couple they enjoy contributing to the life of their local church and keeping fit through cycling and walking. It will be wonderful to welcome them both to the St Hilda’s Community. Dr Wilson Reynolds has a passion for learning that promotes understanding, inspires curiosity and ignites imagination. She is known for her integrity, collaborative leadership and her ability to engage with others. She is a champion for girls’ education knowing that it gives young women a safe environment to develop the skills and attitudes to help them to think deeply, solve problems, connect with others, and contribute positively to society.

Her deep understanding of girls’ education combined with the strong foundation and positive culture of St Hilda’s places us in a remarkable position. I am sure you will all congratulate and welcome Dr Wilson Reynolds as School Principal. The School Council is looking forward to working with Dr Julie Wilson Reynolds.

Yours sincerely,
Professor Susan Brandis
Chairman of School Council

Governing Body of St Hilda’s School

As St Hilda’s School is a Diocesan-owned school, the governing body of the school is Diocesan Council. The members of the Diocesan Council are:

The Most Reverend Dr P J Aspinall
The Right Reverend C Venables
The Right Reverent J Greaves
The Reverend G Hoyte
Mr D O’Connor
Mrs J Dyke
The Reverend A Lowe
Dr Gemma Dashwood
The Right Reverend Dr J C Holland
The Venerable G F Harch
The Reverend J Woolner
The Reverend G Moses
Dr R. S Kerr OAM
The Honourable Justice D Mullins

Diocesan Council delegates certain governance functions to St Hilda’s School Council via the School’s Constitution.

In circumstances where the Directors of the Governing Body must be provided with a report about sexual abuse or likely sexual abuse the Diocesan Council has, pursuant to Section 366B of the Education (General Provisions) Act 2017 delegated that role to Mr Greg Milles, the Director of Professional Standards within the diocese.

Message from School Chairman

The School Council is dedicated to supporting a strategic direction which not only builds a vibrant, world-class educational facility but that promotes personal achievement, self-confidence and strong Christian values within a supportive learning environment.

St Hilda’s School is the custodian of tomorrow’s leaders; we are responsible for ensuring that each student understands her self-worth and is given the opportunity to reach her fullest potential. The School Council takes this responsibility seriously. Through responsible financial management and innovative education policy, the Council is working to ensure that the spiritual, emotional, psychological, academic and physical growth of each student is the hallmark of St Hilda’s School.

I hope that you will take the time to explore our website where you will see students and staff engaged in many wonderful and inspiring learning experiences.

Meet members of School Council

St Hilda’s School is owned by the Diocese of Brisbane and the School Council is appointed by the Archbishop in Council. The major functions of the School Council are the appointment of the School Principal, the annual budget and school policy. The day-to-day running of the school is the responsibility of the Principal, acting in the role of Chief Executive Officer.

Chairman: Professor Susan Brandis, BOccThy, BBus(Health Admin), FCHSE, CHE

Deputy Chairman: The Reverend Dan Talbot BBus(M’Ment&Mkt), GradDipTh, MArts(Theology)

School Council Members 2018
BESbswyBESbswyBESbswyBESbswyBESbswy Mr Michael Beddoes BBus (Hons), FCA, SSA
Mrs Debbie Buckley
Mr Dean Evans
The Reverend Don Parker
Dr Michelle Peterson
The Reverend Michael Uptin MEcon, BFinAdmin, BTh, DipMinistry
Dr Stephanie Schleimer
Dr Julie Wilson Reynolds, Principal BA, Dip Ed, MA, MEd, PhD, MACE
Mr Paul Salter, Secretary/Head of Business GradDipMgmtTech, GradCertMgmtTech, A/DipBusAcc, MPM, GCertTh, GAICD, GMC(Bond)

School Council Members 2018 (left to right): Mr Dean Evans, Professor Susan Brandis, Mrs Debbie Buckley, The Rev Don Parker, Dr Julie Wilson Reynolds, Mr Michael Beddoes, Dr Michelle Peterson, Mr Paul Salter, The Rev Dan Talbot, The Rev Michael Uptin. 

Love, Compassion, Forgiveness, Hope, Grace